Awards don't really mean much, but are reminder of what you can achieve in future


Syd S. and Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining Scholarship Award

Feb 2017

T​he Syd S. and Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining Scholarship is awarded to promote the science of ground control. It is awarded to graduate student who demonstrates a desire for a career in the mineral industry and 


IXL Innovation Olympics Winter 2016 Winner

May 2016

IXL Innovation Olympics was a two month long global innovative challenge wherein the the challenge was to develop a market entry strategy for a foreign company into the United States. Over 40 universities participated in the competition and finally five universities were selected to work with the CEO and CFO of the company and come up with the marketing strategy for launching its products in United States. The universities selected to participate in the competition were Stanford University, Hult University, Babson University, University of Washington and Penn State University.
With team member Aniket Sakpal

Best Poster Award, Energy Days

May 2016

The poster presented on the topic 'Risk Based Decision Making for Fracturing Proppant Selection' was awarded first place in the 'Minerals/Gas/Fracking' category during the Energy Days 2016, held on May 19-20 at the Pennsylvania State University which brought together over 250 industry leaders, government officials, and Penn State students, faculty, and staff to address how the University can help meet the goals of energy affordability, sustainability, and security.

The poster !

Underground Construction Association Young Members Scholarship Award

April 2016

The Underground Construction Association of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration (UCA of SME) Scholarship is awarded to promising college students who desire to develop their skills in the field of tunneling and underground construction and associated disciplines involved in the development, planning, design and construction of underground infrastructure and underground mining.

Receiving award during Student Scholarship Orientation

Environmental Division Scholarship Award

February 2016

​The Environmental Division of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration annually awards the Environmental Division Scholarship to a promising college students who have chosen as a career path the field of mining and the environment.

With Scholarship Chair Robert Mongrain

WAAIME Scholarship Award

February 2016

​The Women’s Auxiliary to AIME (WAAIME) Scholarship fund provides scholarships to students pursuing degrees in the earth sciences as related to the minerals field. Fields recognized by WAAIME include mining, geological sciences, metallurgy, petroleum, mineral sciences, materials science and engineering, mineral economics, chemical engineering and other related studies.

Receiving award from Dr. Jeffery Kohler

Student Travel Award

December 2015

The Society for Risk Analysis Travel Award is awarded to promising researchers to attend and present their research at the 2015 Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) annual meeting.

At SRA Award Nignt

Sponsorship for Masters Education, Ground Control Program - NIOSH

August 2015

Awarded funding to pursue Master of Science in Energy and Mineral Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University under the guidance of Dr. Jamal Rostami and Dr. Jeremy M. Gernand under the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) capacity-building contract to develop a roof bolt drill instrumented for ground characterization, mapping, and support design.

Employee of the Year Award, Coal India Limited

November 2014

Awarded for achieving 180% or $78 million revenue growth at Coal India Limited, the largest coal producing company in the world.

Institute Gold Medal

September 2011

​Awarded for graduatig at the top of the Class of 2010 in Bachelor of Technology (Honors) in Mining Engineering at National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, India.

Receiving award from Dr. M.M. Sharma

Hutti Gold Mines Medal

September 2011

​Awarded for the Best Outgoing Student for the Class of 2010 at National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, India.

Receiving award from Dr. S. Sancheti

Incident 1981 Committee Prize

May 2010

​Awarded for securing highest grades in all the semester in Bachelor of Technology (Honors) in Mining Engineering at  National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, India.

Certification of Merit - Institute of Engineers

August 2007, August 2008 and August 2009

​Awarded at the end of Freshman, Sophomore, Junior year for securing highest Grade Point Average in the Class of 2010 in Bachelor of Technology (Honors) in Mining Engineering.